Relocating to FL, Not set on where...

41 Replies

Hey all! 

I am looking to relocate to FL with my family and struggling to choose a destination. I have a steady residual income and there is nothing keeping us in Central Ohio. I currently have a commercial property and three residential, so I have some experience. From our travels, I am fond of the Pensacola/Destin area, as well as Jacksonville/St. Augustine, and Orlando/New Smyrna Beach. I would also consider Sarasota/Tampa/St. Petersburg. 

I'm looking to invest in a diversified portfolio that would include single family homes to flip, lease option and hold, smaller multi-family to hold and possibly select units to airbnb. 

I'd appreciate feedback from anyone and particularly someone who has experience in more than one of these areas. 

Specifically, I'd like to know:

1. How is the support system (REIA or similar)?

2. Is any one of these markets particularly under valued and/or have a high growth prospect? 

Whoops. . . 

#3. Are any of the areas highly transitional? 

During our recent travels, I noticed that Jacksonville seems to have some areas of town that are on the cusp of transition. While the Gulf areas are to be more rural, yet have opportunity in the rental market to military families. While I wasn't in love with the West Coast Ocean, I did think Sarasota was really quaint. It seems both Orlando and Tampa areas would have similar opportunities to Jacksonville. 

From talks with a lot of local business owners in each area, it does them like there's a lot of support for entrepreneurs.  In Columbus, we have a ton of resources like the Small Business Development Center, lots of co-working spaces, a monthly new venture pitch / networking called "wakeup startup", Columbus Young Professionals (CYP), a number of networking groups, etc. Any thoughts on this? 

There are probably questions I'm not answering, so fire away. Love your input and guidance. Thanks in advance!!!