Moving to Omaha,where to invest?

10 Replies

Currently got notified that my family and I will be moving to the Omaha NE area.(Military move). We are going to put our current home on the market for rent, and purchase again. I'm looking for some insight on the area and a knowledgeable realtor who could help. I would like to move in to the property and later turn it into a rental. Thoughts,advice, tips... I'm all ears. Thanks all!

Hi I’m a realtor and grew up military. Welcome to Nebraska. Offutt AFB is next to Bellevue which has a lot of active duty people/families. A little further west is the city of Papillion (which is where I live) and La Vista. Both also have a lot of military families and have been seeing tremendous growth both in upscale residential and commercial properties as well as shopping areas. Sarpy county as a whole has many great schools and an incredible amount of new builds. Let me know if I can be of any help. 

(Please excuse the grammar as I’m on my cell phone)

Originally posted by @Christina Colon :

Currently got notified that my family and I will be moving to the Omaha NE area.(Military move). We are going to put our current home on the market for rent, and purchase again. I'm looking for some insight on the area and a knowledgeable realtor who could help. I would like to move in to the property and later turn it into a rental. Thoughts,advice, tips... I'm all ears. Thanks all!

I can't tell you where to invest because I don't know your goals overall, but I own houses in both Douglas and Sarpy counties. Property prices are still relatively low and rents are decent. I think Omaha is a great city to invest. I have experienced a lot of appreciation in just a few years, which surprised me because I didn't expect it here.

Originally posted by @Anthony Gayden :
Originally posted by @Christina Colon: