Investing on Oregon coast

5 Replies

Hi, I'm new to REI (since 2/2020). I'm looking into investing in Lincoln City. Are there any wholesalers servicing this area? Are there any investors investing here? Just want to connect. Thanks. (I'm located in Oregon City.)

Hi @Rebecca Pike ,

My mother lives in Lincoln city so we visit there often and each time I go I think about buying in the area. The tourist population has grown immensely in that area. The problem is that the general day to day population has not grown much. Vacation rentals on the waterfront will kill it but trying to get your hands on one of those for less that $800k is nearly impossible. It's a weird market. Just not a great economy besides for tourists coming in. If I could find a BRRRR property on the waterfront somewhere between Lincoln city and Waldport, I would be a buyer. Haven't done a ton of research as of yet, haven't spoke to any realtors, and I doubt there would be any wholesalers targeting such a small area. With that beings said, it may be a great area to start your own marketing campaign. This is all my personal opinion. Of course others may differ.

I'm a Lincoln City based Realtor w/ a primary focus on vacation rentals for buyers and sellers. @Justin Frank is correct, the Oregon Coast is a bit of a weird market for REI... The best thing the Oregon Coast has going for it from an investment perspective is fantastic appreciation over time with tons up upside... but there is really no cash flow for the Oregon Coast for short term or long term rentals.

With short term rentals the seasonality suppresses the gross rental revenue to get great cash flow unless you come in with 50%+ down, with that kind of down I can find vacation rentals starting in the $350k range that will show decent cash flow. For long term rentals the market it just too expense... no such thing as a 1% rule for long term rentals over here, everything is <1%, even with a lack of long term rental options.