• Flipper/Rehabber
  • San Francisco
Votes |
How to make this 10 unit multi deal work

Christopher Morin
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • San Francisco
Posted Feb 18 2015, 08:21

Hey everyone, thanks in advance for reading.  I'll start by saying that I am fairly new to understanding the terms and concepts, so I'm eager for feedback.  Here goes.

The property is listed at 350,000 and is a 10 unit split between 2 buildings, an older and newer.  Mix of 1 BD/1 BA and 2 BD 1 BA.  There are some clear cosmetics that need to be fixed (untamed landscaping, falling down chain link fence) but I actually am going to ignore renovation costs for this post and focus on the income/cash flow analysis.

Rumor is the seller is pre-foreclosure (I couldn't find an LP in the county records though).  I checked county records and he purchased for 600k in 2007 but refinanced for 300k in 2011. 

The seller, for our analysis, has submitted a rent roll and 12-month cash flow.  Their listed "market price" for their units averages 525.5. Their PRI based off their rent roll is 63,060/yr, so 10% vacancy yields:

GOI = 56,754/yr

From their expense sheet, they show maintenance expenses 20,185/yr, management costs of 5,392/yr.  A quick insurance quote yields 12,665/yr and they paid 4100 in taxes last year (appraised value 300k).

Total Operating Expense = 42,243/yr

NOI = $14,510 year.

Which is low. That's before debt service, which on a 100% financed 350k loan at 5% is 22,540 year. Worth noting is that their ACTUAL GOI is closer to 43260 due to actual vacancy and less than market rents. So not only would they be underwater with their full EFI, they aren't even meeting it. The max loan for a DSCR of 1.25 is only 180k. Again, neglecting renovations.