Need Help Analyzing

12 Replies

Hi folks, I have been searching for my first investment property and came across this deal in a different town (about 1.5 hrs away). I am not a pro member as of yet so was wondering if someone would help me analyze and come up with a creative way to try to make it  happen. 

Owner is selling apartment complex with 80% of units that have all been renovated and leased up to 80-100% with annual leases. (24) 1 Bed 1 Bath Units with 600SF, and rents for $510 per month, and (4) 2 Bed 1 Bath Units with 800SF rents for $610 per month. This is a small gated community with very reliable tenant base.
Proforma
$177,360 Stabilized Income
-$79,812 Less Expense @ 45%
$97,548 Stabilized NOI

Asking $929,000 Asking price is based off of a projected 10.5% CAP, and there's a renovations allowance for the remaining 6 units of $15,000. For more information on this please feel to call or email.

Any guidance on my possible first deal will be much appreciated.

Seems a little steep on the price to me.

Originally posted by @Bryan C. :

Seems a little steep on the price to me.

I thought the same but also do not know how to find out what complexes that are comparable are selling for.

I would buy based on actuals, not proforma. If you buy based on proforma, you are buying value that hasn't been added. You are paying for work that you have yet to do.

15k for 6 units sounds like a stretch. If the owner renovated that many units - which 6 do you think he left for last? The easy ones? No

I would assume at minimum 10k per unit of those 6, plus they are not even getting to the heart of the problem: what is the status of the BUILDING....? So many people make the mistake of pouring their money into the unit renovations, with little or no attention to the building other than bandaids. Guess what happens when that roof leaks? Your renovations are ruined.