Grand Rapids, MI - Cap Rates

15 Replies

Hello everyone, I’ve been analyzing small 2-4 unit properties on the MLS for a couple of months in Grand Rapids. If I use 25% for expenses (5% each for vacancy, capex, R&M, and 10% for PM), most houses hover right around 3% cap rate or lower. Somehow, investors are still paying way over asking. Is it the metrics I’m using, or are people just setting themselves up for failure? Thank you!

What is this 25% expenses number? 

I use purchase price, down payment (which is 25%), water/sewer, PM, 10% for vacancy and 10% for Maintenace. You also have to take into consideration they are buying a unit with low rents and they intend to increase the rents and increase the cap rate or cash flow that way. I am buying a 5 unit with a terrible cap rate but I know once I get all the rents increased they cap rate will almost double. 

To clarify, that 25% was in addition to the purchase price and down payment of 25%. Sounds like my expenses are too low anyway. I hadn’t considered water/sewer which seems pretty obvious now.

I guess that, being green as I am, I’ve been hesitant to go after a property based on potential income and have been looking for properties that cash flow right away but have potential to add value (bedrooms, etc.).

But hey, better to learn it here than the hard way right? I certainly appreciate the feedback.

Do you use any rules of thumb to tell if a property is worth looking at?