Services In Exchange for Partnership - HELP

4 Replies

Hey BP nation, I have a question and could use some advice. I am an architect, designer and project manager with over 25 years in the business. I have owned rental property, flipped a few house in NJ. I am now currently working on a row-house renovation to rent in Philly. (separate from my question, just a little background on my experience) 

I have architecture clients that have invited me in on a piece of a deal flip deal. They are bringing the cash and I am bringing the experience. My Question is  - Can I / Should I get paid for my services as part of contribution/expenses when we settle on the property? They get their principal returned to them, should i in return get my sweat equity back? $30-35K in time and my 25+ years of experience?? I wait till the end like they do. Any advice?? thanks in advance.

@Robert Feinstein I've thought about the same type of deal with about 13 years in the business. I would have to understand the deal 100% and be willing to go in as an equity holder. I would then only relinquish my partial ownership when the property sells and are repaid for my efforts. I would not do deal if I wasn't on the paperwork and an agreed to percentage I am entitled to. Waiting for a payout after you've done all this design/permitting/etc. work upfront is dangerous without some skin in the game.    

I am interested to see what others say...    

@Jared W Smith thanks for the response. I do have 15% equity being offered to me as a member of the LLC but wanted to see if I was on the right path asking for my contribution (A&D&CM) to be paid off upon completion of the project. They (the money side) have to wait for their cash contribution so I thought it was far I have to wait for mine)

But I think they think I was adding this service and it got washed away. I would just get my 15% after expenses (not including my sweat equity contribution) it almost equals the potential profits.