User Stats

Votes
Daniel Campos
Votes |
Financing first house hack

Daniel Campos
Posted Apr 3 2023, 17:40

Hello guys

Im new to real estate investing and I want to house hack in my local market but I encountered a problem with financing, I currently have 2 single family homes, one of them is rented and I wanted to rent the other house so I can move to a multifamily (duplex), but the lender said that the bank won't approve the loan because they don't believe that I will be moving from a single family to a multifamily, is there a way to overcome this situation or some kind of proof that I can provide? 

Thanks for the help 😄

User Stats

Votes
Replied Apr 3 2023, 20:16

lol tell them yeah i was lying to you 

User Stats

Votes
Ryan Thomson#1 House Hacking Contributor
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Colorado Springs, CO
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Colorado Springs, CO
Replied Apr 4 2023, 08:30

@Daniel Campos what?! That sounds ridiculous. Ask them what you need to do to convince them that's your plan. If they say you "can't convince us" than go find another lender immediately. 

Maybe setting up a lease for your current house would help convince them? Or a letter that you sign? 

House Hack Colorado Springs Logo
BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored
Find an investor-friendly agent in your market TODAY Get matched with our network of trusted, local, investor friendly agents in under 2 minutes

User Stats

Votes
Reid Chauvin
  • Lender
  • Nashville TN - Licensed in AL AR DC FL GA LA MD TN, TX and VA
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Nashville TN - Licensed in AL AR DC FL GA LA MD TN, TX and VA
Replied Apr 4 2023, 09:01