Is it realistic to start RE investing by wholesaling out of state?

5 Replies

I'm new to BP and I'm working on getting started in RE investing. As it seems to for many new investors, wholesaling seems like a reasonably good option for a way to get started in investing and understanding a way for how to find deals. I live in the San Francisco area and based on the forum reading I've done so far, it doesn't seem like there is a huge opportunity for wholesaling locally. Is it realistic to consider wholesaling out of my area when I'm just getting started?

Originally posted by @Brian Armstrong :

I'm new to BP and I'm working on getting started in RE investing. As it seems to for many new investors, wholesaling seems like a reasonably good option for a way to get started in investing and understanding a way for how to find deals. I live in the San Francisco area and based on the forum reading I've done so far, it doesn't seem like there is a huge opportunity for wholesaling locally. Is it realistic to consider wholesaling out of my area when I'm just getting started?

Anything is possible so long as you have thoroughly done your homework, know how to properly analyze the local housing market(whichever one you choose) will take action and you have a good team to help you to close, yes it can be done.  

Kudos,

Mary

Is it possible, Yes!  Is it a good idea, probably not.  That being said, if you have no other choices then do your homework and be mentally ready.  There are different challenges doing virtual wholesaling. 

Are there any successful investors in your area that can guide you through the process locally? Is there a REIA? You can get a wealth of information that way.

Good luck..........Roland