How to begin wholesaling in college as a side hustle?

16 Replies

I am currently a freshman at Baylor and was wondering one day how I could earn a little extra money on the side. I stumbled upon wholesaling one day while I was on BP and I was fascinated. I figured this would be a perfect way to get my foot in the door and begin to learn more about the real estate market. The only problem is I have no idea where to begin or what steps I should take to start this journey of mine. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

@Blaine Alger You may want to try this out as more than a side thing. It will take commitment and time to make it work but you would be surprised with the potential income and wealth building that could come from starting with this avenue. Read some books about the subject and continue to build your knowledge then simply put your knowledge into action. 

@Alex Deacon What are some books you would recommend reading to increase my knowledge in the field?

@Blaine Alger  

That is how I started, as a side business to pay for my college tuition so I would not incur students' loans ... 30+ years ago. :)

It eventually became my full time business, after I studied all the way to an MBA, but I realized that I was making more money from my side business than my corporate job. 

I would like to make a couple of recommendations: first of all, time management. You have to work at this business, like @Alex Deacon said. Even as a side thing, you have to put in consistency and some work (focus) every day. I did.

The other suggestion is to attend local REIA meetings, find someone you like online (YouTube, BP) and follow their advice and training. Don't follow too many investors, or you will get confused more than anything.