New Investor Seeking Help

13 Replies

Hey everyone I’m a new investor from Newark,NJ looking for any knowledge and tips from other local investors that can help me out since I’m just getting started in this business. All help is greatly appreciated.

@Xavier Seymour ,

Go into the Education - Guides section on here.  Download and read 

The Ultimate Beginner's Guide To Real Estate Investing

It's a great place to start. There are many, many heads to the real estate investing beast. Learn what they are and what interests you. Consider your goals and current assets (time, money, etc.) and come up with a plan that works for you.

Yeah, this is a vague, top-level answer, but you posted a vague, top-level question.

Once you decide to explore a direction, get active in your local REIA groups and online here.

@Xavier Seymour ,

I just dove in about 6 weeks ago. I took a class that gave me all of the basics. It included strategies, contracts, the mechanics of how to do this, and all of that. It was all you need to get started. I kinda feel like it got me through the "middle school of wholesaling". I'm getting my "high school" education as I start working it. I've purchased a source of data to look for leads for my direct mailing, which I'm about to start - I just need to create the mailing pieces and finalize my criteria. I've been going to local REIA and REI meetups at least once a week. I told my wife I needed to do this a couple of weeks ago, and she said she was wondering why I wasn't already doing that. Oh, and I go D4D with my 12 year-old son. We even got matching shirts with my company logo. That was an extravagance, but I only paid $8/shirt at VistaPrint using their program where they give you $ to spend after making orders. Since I needed business cards and envelopes, I earned enough to almost pay for the shirts.