Do I need a Business Name and Website?

6 Replies

I'm so excited about RE investing that I think I may have gotten ahead of myself.  I came up with what I thought was a great business name and just bought the domain name for it. Do I actually even need a business name?  Website? Special business email?  At this moment, my aspirations are to acquire 20-30 rental properties......  Did I go overboard? 

@Lynn Montang

Hi Lynn - You don't need a website to get started but it's a good idea to think about how you want to incorporate/structure your business so you can minimize your personal liability/risk from the rental.  Congrats on getting started!

@Sibbir Noman

Thanks for your reply!

Short answer - no.  Long answer - a lot of newbies spend way too much time on "setting up their business" and stuff like that.  You're better off to be spending your time finding good deals and making offers (and learning).

I'm with Brian on this one... I'm a newbie too and my short term goal is to replace my current income with Realestate investments , wholesaling and assignment fees. All else will fall into place but making money comes first... Don't ever forget the reason why you're getting into this business ..  Financial freedom for the most part has kept me moving ... Good luck and congrats !

Originally posted by @Bryan L. :

Short answer - no.  Long answer - a lot of newbies spend way too much time on "setting up their business" and stuff like that.  You're better off to be spending your time finding good deals and making offers (and learning).

That's really good advice! I'm a newbie as well but thought I'd chime in because I'm going to take that advice as well!