Quitting corporate and leaving a 6-figure salary

18 Replies

This is Year 2 for us and we are currently renovating our 2nd duplex with tenants lining up. I also just got my real estate license. I am a pharmacist with a great salary working in corporate (large pharma company) and I HATE. Yes H..A..T..E! Nothing interesting about climbing their corporate ladder, dealing with politics or the micro-managing in the company. I'm extremely unhappy. I fell in love with real estate after 10 years in pharma and I want out to continue my real estate career. Funny thing is that this shocks most RE people I talk to. I get responses like "I've never had a Dr change careers into RE" (my current broker)...and "why would you leave pharmaceuticals for this? There's money in pharma?" I just don't see my success as clearly working for "the man" vs building an RE empire. Anyone else out there that gave up their cushy 6-figure salary and career for the RE world??

I see where you are coming from. I'm an anesthetist and easily clear 6 figures. However, i am lucky that i enjoy my job. But i do envision the day where i cut back to 1-2 days a week of doing anesthesia and 1-2 days a week of real estate.

If you really do hate your job/career then i would recommend you step away. Keep your licensure though... You will be much more successful doing something that you love as opposed to doing something that you hate. Also, removing such a big negativity from your life will almost certainly enrich all other areas of your life. 

Best of luck on the journey

Thank you both for well wishes.  I haven't quit yet but am leaning toward cutting back to part time so I can focus the rest of my time on RE.  It just scares me to death to make that cut but I'm finding it very necessary.  I also just read a thread on here from a month ago, detailing a similar dilemma.  Helps to see others in the same boat.  Freedom and time seem to be the most common denominator.  Thanks again for the support!