Investing in farmland?

16 Replies

Hello all, 

My name is Frederic and I've been reading the forums for a few days now.

I currently work in the investment industry as a mutual fund sales representative and am looking at investing in real estate within a year or two. I currently own a house with my fiance and would like to diversify my assets into real estate as most of my income/assets is linked to financial markets. 

I was looking at buying some farmland in one of the western provinces as an investment. I was wondering if anyone had experience doing this? 

Here's a couple of stats for you. 

List price: 130000 (25% down over 25 or 30 yrs) 

Annual rent: 40$/acre x 160 acres =6400$

Annual taxes: 800$

Vacancy: not sure it'll ever be vacant

Lease would be paid upfront before growing season and generally on a multi year term with built in increases. 

Just looking at some pointers or things I might have missed? This would be a buy and hold and mostly counting on appreciation. 

Thanks in advance for your help! 

@Frederic Babeux , interesting topic. I've never seen this on BP before.

At 1st glance this look like a 17% cash-on-cash return, which is pretty good. Where I think this deal starts to look less attractive is:

1. There's no depreciation on land (I don't know Canadian tax laws, so take this with a grain of salt). 
  2. Appreciation is likely to be lower than on developed land, as population/housing is what drives demand in RE.
  3. Appreciation itself is speculation, NOT investment. 

Thank you @Jaysen Medhurst , you bring some good points. As you mentionned, you cannot depreciate land in Canada, I'm guessing you guys use depreciation expenses in your income statements therefore ''reducing'' net profits?