Building a relationship with my RE agent

10 Replies

Hello BP community,

I finally submitted my first offer on a rental property!  It is a one bedroom one bath condo in DC, move in ready, and  furnished. It's a short sale. The condo has been on the market for 310 days and being sold as is. My agent, who is also a RE investor himself, was surprised how well-maintained the unit is. After four days from submitting my offer, my agent got back to me saying that someone had already offered to pay cash and more than the list price.

His response seemed odd to me, why would someone offer cash and pay more than the list price on a property that's been on the market for more than 300 days.

My question is, how can I confirm that this is actually what happened? And is this a legit concern I should have?

I am just a newbie trying to build a relationship with a real estate agent.

Hmm. That does seem pretty weird. I wonder if he also shared this deal with another investor who he works with more often. I am not sure how you can get around this but I would not worry about it. Just go and find the next deal. 

The list price on a short sale means nothing. It is typically set artificially low to bring in interest. Almost any short sale in the a tea is going to have offers over asking regardless of DOM.

@Youssef S. You agent should ask the other agent about other offers and depending on the circumstance, you might want to add an escalation addendum to your offer.  In DC, most of our clients are dropping most, if not all, of the contingencies in a multiple offer situations.  In this case, it is a bit surprising that a cash buyer would come over the top when they property has been sitting so long.  Did they just do a price reduction?