Newbie from south florida

7 Replies

Hello all! I'm a newbie from South Florida (Boca Raton) looking to get started with real estate investing. FInishing up my A.A this year, as well as soon getting my real estate license (2 weeks left). Got my real estate license not necessarily to be a real estate agent but to start to get my feet wet in this world of real estate. I have been working part-time trying to save up here and there as well as reading books and listening to podcast every day.

So I guess my question to you guys would be... being that I live in a hot south Florida market, where it isn't the easiest to buy a property, maybe I should look at investing out of state? up until now I have not considered this route. The original plan was to house hack a duplex with an FHA. but in the long term side of things, do you think looking to invest out of state is a good idea? Any advice greatly appreciated!

@Jo Mendes   Congratulations on getting started. There is a tremendous amount of information here fore the taking. I recommend the podcasts. Every one. As for your questions, deals are hard to come by in any market. It's all relative to what your strategy is. Some markets are more favorable for flipping, and some are for buy/hold. Even the buy/hold markets can be differentiated by which markets are good for cash flow and which are good for appreciation. It really all depends on what you want to do. Anything is possible with the right execution.

I will say this... we have a great group of people that get together every month and discuss things like this over coffee. We'd be more than happy to have you come and join the discussion or pose questions we haven't discussed before. We meet over coffee in Delray Beach, so if you would like more information, let me know.

Good luck out there...