Newbie w/ a 100k to start

28 Replies

Hi BP Family!

I want to start investing in RE to build a good cash flow. I'm not looking for flips since I never did this before, have no experience at all in this field but I do have access to 100k to start. I live in California kind hard to find cash flow properties here so I thought buying my first rental using a turn key company to buy out of state and start learning as we go.

I would like to know from you guys ( pros ) any ideas to start building a cash flow portfolio. I can't manage properties at this time by myself specially OOS. I'm a business owner, work long hours everyday but later on I want to make RE my primary source of income. Any advice will be appreciated.

Thank you guys and have a great day!

Check out James Wise of Holton-Wise in Cleveland. Even if you don't use his services, he's a good example of someone that's hustling to help out-of-state investors make a good return on their money.

You can also read "Long-Distance Real Estate Investing" by David Greene. He gives you all the information you need to set up a team that can help you invest in other states.

Could you use the 100k as a down payment for a House Hack. 3.5% down on up to a 2.8mil multifamily property in your area. Could be possible? House hacking would allow you control as you manage. I am a fan of options. 

Originally posted by @Andre Pinheiro :

Hi BP Family!

I want to start investing in RE to build a good cash flow. I'm not looking for flips since I never did this before, have no experience at all in this field but I do have access to 100k to start. I live in California kind hard to find cash flow properties here so I thought buying my first rental using a turn key company to buy out of state and start learning as we go.