New investor introducing myself

21 Replies

Hello BiggerPockets community! I'm new to this forum and thought it would be a good idea to introduce myself and maybe get some tips on where to start out. I live in Oregon as an actor at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and am interested in real estate investing as a part-time way to make more money. I've listened to many of the BP podcasts and have browsed some posts here for thoughts on starting out. Are any of you invested in Oregon and maybe just completed your first few years of investing? I've been searching realtor.com and Zillow for properties in Eugene, OR that will cash flow but I'm fairly new to this so I dunno if I'm even looking in the right place. Hit me up if you have time. I'd love to connect with likeminded people in my area. Thanks!

Welcome to BP, @Moses Villarama . Congratulations, you have found one of the most valuable free resources on the internet for real estate investors new and old. We are happy to help you in any way we can.

Hey Moses, welcome! I'm in the Eugene area as well and fairly new to the business. From my limited experience, the market here is high and most of what is listed on the MLS is overpriced, with rents often undermarket and the new rent control law preventing bringing them up to market quickly. That said, there's opportunities in any market, you just won't find what you hear about in the Midwest, you have to set your expectations accordingly.

Hello @Moses Villarama !Welcome to BP! I also recently just joined as well. Although I currently live in Japan I'm from Oregon so I'm looking to do some investing there since I know the area. Although I do hear the West Coast is good for flips and the Midwest is better for rentals.

What type of properties are you looking into investing?

Originally posted by @Moses Villarama :