“Free” Project Management

3 Replies

Hey everyone!

I have been working in commercial construction since 2001. I have been the lead PM on projects ranging from $5M up to $40M. I currently work as a senior project manager at the largest concrete contractor in the country.

I was thinking of offering my project management expertise & commercial construction experience in exchange for learning more about being a commercial developer from someone that has been in real estate development for awhile.

Obviously the ideal situation would be something I can do part time since I have a day job. If I could get a piece of the project, that would be fantastic but not a deal breaker either way. I just want someone to show me the ropes.

What do you all think of this idea?

@Seth Tandett because you are looking for a commercial developer you are dealing with a much smaller subset of people, and most commercial developments are run by corporations not individuals so you'll have a tougher time getting your foot in the door.  Unless it is commercial RE or bust a residential investor might be more the speed you're looking for.

@Seth Tandett Developers will not exchange equity for services. We hire it out.

As you know developers hire Architects to design and facilitate construction admin, GC's to handle the vertical and CM firms, owners rep or consultants if needed to oversee the project part time. If they are in need of full PM they will hire that in-house.

If you want to get into the development space you should look for a position with a development company as a PM and grow from there. There are a lot of firms in Richmond looking for talent.

@Seth Tandett