Whose responsibility to empty septic?

22 Replies

I know I messed up by not addressing this issue in the lease.

For those of you who rent out homes with septics, 

do you have the tenant pay for emptying it or do you pay?

Will it be too late to add it to the lease upon renewal? 

they have been there 5 years without a septic cleaning. How often should it be done with 3 people living there?

Many thanks!

Unless you have a clear line in the lease saying otherwise, it's your responsibility to keep your rental property in working order.  Clearly, the septic system is part of that.

You'll get a large range of opinions regarding the frequency of required cleaning.  Same argue you should do it every year and others claim that a correctly designed and used septic system rarely, if ever, needs to be pumped.  I'm no expert, so will refrain from commenting - I'm sure others will chime in

I do it.  It is a couple hundred dollars for emptying  around here. Here in the towns we are in we are required to empty every 3 years. I would rather do it and know it is done then rely on them and get a backup of sewage.   If it is a gravity system without ejection pumps that should be sufficient.  Really I think it was $200 at one house, $240 at another and $300 at a 5 unit building.  You can add at renewal but I would guess you would need to set a frequency. 

Ok guess I 'll add it to the lease next year and pay to have it done this year.

Thanks everyone-very helpful, as usual.

I'm with Benjamin. Tenants will leave before they pay to pump septic. If you want to recover this cost, work it into the rent. It Shouldn't need to completed but about every 5 years unless there is a problem with the system. $300 over 5 years is like $5/month