Tenant's Debt Collection

15 Replies

Hi -

Am I able to enter the defaulted rent amount on a tenant's credit even though we entered into an agreement in court?

I filed an eviction in the Philadelphia court system against my tenants.  The eviction was resolved by judgement by agreement where the tenant's agreed to move by the end of the month.  Am I able to still file the defaulted amount on their credit? 

Thanks in advance.

No, because an agreement was adjudicated. You didn't actually win a judgment. Only a court issued judgment can be entered onto someone's credit.

@Stephanie D.

I would be careful about how you handle this. Unless you have a very good reason to do so, I wouldn't try to do anything outside of what the judgment expressly states. 

Disclaimer: While I’m an attorney licensed to practice in PA, I’m not your attorney. What I wrote above does not create an attorney/client relationship between us. I wrote the above for informational purposes. Do not rely on it for legal advice. Always consult with your attorney before you rely on the above information.

Originally posted by @Stephanie D. :

Hi -

Am I able to enter the defaulted rent amount on a tenant's credit even though we entered into an agreement in court?

I filed an eviction in the Philadelphia court system against my tenants.  The eviction was resolved by judgement by agreement where the tenant's agreed to move by the end of the month.  Am I able to still file the defaulted amount on their credit? 

Thanks in advance.

Why wasn't the tenant ordered to pay the amount owed to you? I have heard that some of the tenants are staging the scene or breaking some stuff in the house just to avoid paying rent.