General Landlording & Rental Properties

User Stats

Votes
Marcus Johnson
Votes |
Looking for a Landlord Opinion on Property damages

Marcus Johnson
Posted Nov 10 2019, 16:42

I am having a landlord issue and would like landlord opinions .  We have had a great relationship before these past month of so. I was giving the option to move out and will be taking that option.  

Background:

- I have been renting a house ,in Georgia, for the last 2 years for $1900 dollars a month. House worth 300k to 350k

- We currently in dispute on who is responsible for repair of a cleanout pipe, sewer line . Clean out pipe broke off and was laying in the yard for i don't know how long. My pumping eventually got to the point where sewage was coming out of a toilet  anytime  any appliance used water flooding half of my downstairs. 

- His plumber says it look like it was cut, so not normal wear and tear . My plumber said it looks like it was improperly installed sticking out of the ground by more the  than 3 feet.  I said I don't know what happened to the pipe but it would be impossible to  it where it broke at because  the part of the pipe that broke . Repair bill 8 or 900 dollars.

-Previous month, the cleanout pipe is on the right side of the house and the a/c unit  .  The a/c pump needed to be replaced. Before his repair guy  came, I had weeds removed from near the a/c unit and the guy broke the power supply to the a/c unit. I paid my landlord 400 dollars for the power supply and he paid 400 for the pump replacement.   From his perspective, he is saying he went half on the a/c repair .

- I bring this up, because he continues  to state that he was nice enough to go half with me for the a/c  trying to encourage me to accept responsibility  for the cleanout pipe. I have sent him text message stating that I appreciate the kindness and I  am willing to pay for any invoice he send me a/c  power supply supply .   He has yet to send me  an invoice for repair.