New Member from Alpharetta, GA

9 Replies

Hello Everyone! My name is Holly Saxby and I am a newbie at real estate investing. I was a CPA and am working to get my license reinstated after 10 years of staying home with my kids( I have to catch up on my cpe). During this time at home, I learned a ton about rehabbing our house and generally have a confidence about repairing/replacing most things. I am currently volunteering with my church's repair and maintenance ministry and learning more skills. I would like to make my 1st Buy and Hold property in 2016 using equity from our current house. I am here to gain knowledge and with that...the confidence to take the plunge in the next 3-4 months. I am hoping to finish my business plan in the next 2 weeks and set up an LLC to be ready to move. I would love any advice that would help!

Hi Holly and welcome, I'm not to far from you in Gainesville GA, Forsyth is hot right now so maybe you can land a deal there. Maybe we will meet sometime at REIA or another meetup, good luck and best wishes

@Jason Hern

I thought an LLC was the the normal structure most investors used for the liability protection? As I said though, I'm in the education part of this adventure and haven't got to the early setup...working my education from the backend of where I want to go toward the start. But, I know as an accountant, that I need to make sure the setup is right before proceeding. What is the norm for investors if not an LLC?