New to the forum, Just bought my first rental. Nervous.

12 Replies

Hi forum members.  I'm a newbie here.  I just bought my first rental in the Tampa, FL area.  I've wanted to do this years ago and then '08 hit and curtailed my plans.  I put 20k down and don't expect to make a boat load of money month to month.  Just thinking in the long term.  I have a great agent and a great friend who's experienced and very willing to give advice but damn, I'm a little shaky about the whole thing.  I'm hoping to get on solid ground with the first one and then go after another one in a year or less. 

The more cash you put down on the purchase, the more likely you are to have a positive cash flow each month. If you dont want to deal with the stress of it then maybe look into getting a property manager? Otherwise, if you do a good job of screening your tenants the whole ordeal will tend to work itself out with minimal daily input on your end.

Welcome to the forum!

@Stanley Cole welcome to BP and congrats on doing your first deal! 

I echo what Alan said, finding good tenants could make or break you when you're first getting started. Make sure to screen them (credit/criminal checks and references) and make sure they can afford the rent. 

If I was just getting started, this is what I would recommend doing:

All the best!

-Andrew

Hi Stanley- I also just purchased my first multi family in tampa and I live all the way up in CT . I broke even my first month so im definitely nervous and hoping it works out 

Originally posted by @Nabeel Kurji :

Hi Stanley- I also just purchased my first multi family in tampa and I live all the way up in CT . I broke even my first month so im definitely nervous and hoping it works out 

Wow, I bought in Tampa also.  I live in NY and I work in Stamford.  I hope it all works out well for you.  Please keep me posted on your progress.  Maybe we could have lunch one day and share knowledge. 

What's up, everyone!