Recommendations for beginners!

9 Replies

Hello all! I was sent here by a property investor that said this would be a great place to start gaining knowledge. I'm a Navy veteran residing in San Diego and want to put my VA loan to good use/ get into investing in rental properties.

I’m in school at UCSD for the polar opposite, Public Health, so I’m not sure where to start!

Any recommendations on some good reads, people to follow, or seminars?

Thanks!!

@Shalene Brooks start by attending the webinar on BP on buying small multi families. You have a VA loan that you can use to buy with nothing down. If I was starting over I would buy small multi's owner occupied 2-4 units and move every year for 10 years. Why 10 years: can only have 10 mortgages that conform Freddie or Fannie( i get them confused) guidelines. You will end up with 20-40 cash flowing units. Just type in house hacking on this site. Conventional investing will require you to have 20-25% down. After you use your VA loan you can use FHA 3.5% down and after that you can use Owner occupy 5% down. So just using 5% down for the same cash outlay less closing cost you can buy 4-5 properties.

@Shalene Brooks welcome to BP and thank you for your service.

Since you’re in an excellent school (you guys at UCSD are the smart ones in town ;), you likely have above average study habits already so you’re in the right place.

Go to the BP bookstore on this website and literally pick any of the ones about getting started. This group here on BP is an invaluable resource in general though. Good luck!

Promotion
BiggerPockets
The one-stop-shop for REI
Find Local Home Improvement Pros!
Check out our network of trusted, local contractors for all of your home improvement projects.
Find a Contractor

Shalene,