How To Learn Real Estate

5 Replies

Hey everyone! I am new to real estate. I was wondering where I could learn about the basics of real estate. I am a hands on kind of person and here to learn! I know absolutely nothing about it. Not sure where to start to learn cause I mean when I say I know nothing about it I mean absolutely zip. I been watching some youtube videos and listening to biggerpockets podcast but its like listening to a different language. I am hearing and seeing but not understand any of what I am learning, like none of it lol. I been looking for a mentor around my market here in san angelo tx but no luck so far. Like I said early I am a hands on learner. Part of my wavering learning disability I have. Anyway I am looking forward to figuring/learning all of this. Real Estate sounds like so much fun. I really believe I will draw a strong passion for this once it finally clicks for me. Btw it is nice to meet everyone. Hope we grow together and become good friends :)

@Mike Curry

Welcome to BP!  Do keep reading and participating in the forums.

You might also find a local, seasoned, successful real estate investor and see if s/he will allow to you to tag along and learn in exchange for offering some skill (accounting, carpentry, landscaping, etc) you can contribute ... or, general labour.

Keep educating yourself. A good start is The Book On Real Estate Investing by Brandon Turner. The best investment you can make it in yourself and the most efficient way is through self education. Also find a friend/ family member/ old couple at church that has a few rentals and let them know you are interested in learning.

You Learn by reading, reading, readings, and reading some more. You go to real estate clubs and live training. You meet people that are doing deals and talk with them. This takes time...as in years. It does not take years to buy your first property, but years to get the kind of traction where you can really make a living at it.