First investment help

15 Replies

I’m not sure if this is the right section to post this question, but I literally have hundreds of questions and am extremely overwhelmed. ANYWAY: I am ready to jump in and buy my first investment property but I originally planned on fix and flip single family homes, and now I’m thinking I should not close off buying a house to rent. The problem is I do not understand how I get my money back with a rental? It is clear that with a fix and flip the money invested will come back once the house is sold and then I can re invest my profit, but if I put a 20%down on a rental how do I get my cash back out of that house to re invest? I have saved up 65k which I know is not a lot to some but to me it is and I do not want to put it all (or a big chunk) into one property to make an extra $300/400 a month and no way to continue investing... What am I missing here?
@Mandi Martinez Hi Mandi I am also new at this and in similar situation but I believe the Brrrr strategy is what you need to do: Buy, rehab, rent, refinance, repeat. In theory the concept is simple but you have to make sure all the numbers make sense for this to work. First you find and Buy a good deal where after all repairs you still have a good equity, then you rent it, you refinance to get all or most of your money out and last step is to repeat the whole process again. In the best case scenario you would get all of your money out when you refinance, have a cash flowing property with equity and best of all the experience and confidence to repeat the process again. Hope this helps, good luck. Here’s the link to article: https://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/brrrr-buyrehabrentrefinancerepeatprimer/