Using 0% Interest CC's for Rehab Work

18 Replies

I am interested to know why more investors don't open CC's that have 0% interest for 12/18 months for rehab work on their investment properties. After listening to the first 335 episodes of the BP OG podcast, I have heard one guest cite credit cards as a feasible way to finance rehabs. Is there something I am missing? Are investors just looking to develop relationships with their private lenders and hard money lenders for larger rehab projects down the road? To me, it seems like a very reasonable way to pay as little interest as possible for the longest amount of time. 

I've done over 25 unit renovations with credit cards. Now I'm getting to the point where it's starting to impact my credit score due to high utilization so I'm going to refi 3 properties and pay off all the cards. I've never done a re-fi before-- It just is so expensive to do commercial financing.

Originally posted by @Jill F. :

I've done over 25 unit renovations with credit cards. Now I'm getting to the point where it's starting to impact my credit score due to high utilization so I'm going to refi 3 properties and pay off all the cards. I've never done a re-fi before-- It just is so expensive to do commercial financing.

YUP that can bite you when U go to refi.. 

Originally posted by @Jay Hinrichs :
Originally posted by @Jill F.:

Jay, I'm kind of worried about that. I probably should have done it sooner. I think we have real strong equity positions in the properties we are going to try to refi so I'm hoping that will help. Plan B is that if I'm unable to refi, I'll sell off my only SFR and then I can pay off over 60% of the credit card debt and then I'll try again to refi. Since I do commercial loans they don't focus on DTI, how much do you think my cc debt will hurt with commercial lenders?

Originally posted by @Jay Hinrichs: