Approaching Someone Who Has Filed Bankruptcy

11 Replies

I have found a property through Bigger Pockets that is owned by someone who has filed for bankruptcy (at the end of August). I have found through other forum posts that the best means of contacting the owner would be to skip trace and find their phone number. I have already found the owners on Facebook and plan on finding the phone number soon to contact them. My question is, what do I need to know when attempting to buy from someone who has filed chapter 7 already? I read on other forum posts when trying to buy a property with a tax lien that you should check to make sure they haven't filed for bankruptcy. I have also read that you should check the title to make sure there are not extra liens on it. I'm very new to investing and am curious, how do you search titles to ensure the lien status? Thanks for any and all input!

This is where a great relationship with a title company comes in to play, or taking a great course on title research.  In this case I would think you would want to go thru a title company for advice on what they will need to issue title insurance.

#1 Question is if the seller plans to keep or sell the house as part of the bankruptcy....If they want to keep it and pay the mortgage and have the ability to do that, then it stays with them.  If they want to sell, then they will need court approval to sell.  So typically both parties will agree to price and terms on normal contract with special provisions that it must be approved by the court.  Their bankruptcy attorney will likely handle this part for you.  This could take a couple of months or potentially more.  

That's part of it....of course than can be a lot more to it if there are mortgage liens, tax liens, or more.

Promotion
Vacasa
Vacation Rental Property Management
We do the work. You get the ROI.
We do it all for your vacation rental. All—marketing, pricing, guest requests, housekeeping & more.
Free income estimate