How much can I trust the county tax appraisal?

14 Replies

Hey Guys,

I'm really new to the game, so i'm trying to figure some stuff out. Help me out! 

I found a 3 bed, 2 bath, 1680 sq ft. double wide trailer on .4 acres for sale for $31,500. The tax office had appraised it this past year at $73,130 and the zillow zestimate shows to be $89k. 

The property is is pretty good condition. The only thing i would have to do (as far as i know at this point) would be fresh paint and  carpet.

When i plug all of this information into the rental calculator here online using 20% down, $7000 (High Estimate) in repair costs, average closing costs, an after repair value of $65k (in my mind a conservative estimate considering it appraises for $73k), and ultimately renting it out for $700 a month, all my numbers look tremendous. I have all my expenses set at averages for the area and have the tenant paying water and electricity. 

I haven't actually went to see the property yet, but based upon these numbers i'm getting a 22% ROI, and $285 of cashflow per month with total cash needed at signing of $15,300. The real kicker is the total initial equity coming in at $39,800!

Now, all of these numbers don't mean jack if the property isn't worth what the tax office says its worth. What do you guys think? Let me know your response.

Thanks! 

Do not use Tax appraisal for ARV. You will be way off. I'm working on a deal that has the tax appraisal at 60K, but the comps pulled put the house at 80K. The tax value is used to calculate how much taxes the home owner pays and can reassessed if the home owner thinks it's too high and wants a lower tax bill. You want a low tax assessment, but a high appraisal.

If you need a starting point, it'll work, but you'll want something more accurate. Pull comparisons or have a real estate agent pull them.

Thanks for your response! 

So i guess my question is this....