Absolute Newbie Looking to Jump Into Rental Properties

48 Replies

Hello everyone!

This is my first post here as I am brand new to both BiggerPockets and property investments.

I have some money lying around in my bank account that's doing absolutely nothing (was made from my business), and so I was looking to build some (relatively) passive income and turn that liquid cash into property assets.

I am prepared to invest up to $150,000 CAD ($140K USD) into rental properties.

I would like my investments to be as passive and hands-off as possible, and so I would definitely be hiring a property management company.

I have endless questions, but I guess my first would be whether it'd be better to buy off properties in whole first, or to take on mortgages. Please excuse my complete naivety in this matter - everyone has to start out somewhere!

In the smallish city where I live, apartments on the cheapest end of the spectrum are listed at around 69K (all prices from hereon out are in CAD) and renting out for around $650/month. Moving up to $125K list price and they're renting out for around $825. At $150K list, they're around $875. It seems the lower end of the market has a better cost:rent ratio.

Taking the $69K - $650 rent as an example (there are a bunch of these units for sale; they're in a complex with a lot of units for sale), let's say I bought 4 of those (although I wouldn't want to put all my eggs in one basket buying all in the same building, but this is just for samples sake).