Best tenant payment options?

20 Replies

This may date me as my kids say I am too old school but since 2007 I have always had rent due on the 1st but not late if received by the 5th

I am having more and more tenants, especially college aged, asking me if I do direct bank deposit or Venmo, etc

My question is pretty simple, what do you all use to protect yourself, cost effective and secure?

I am getting old fashion checks, money grams, or cashiers checks. But, am I too old school with my check in the mailbox method?

Thanks for all your input. Time to grow at 52 years old !

I've been collecting rents for more than 50 years and I think the same way as you. 

It is much simpler to use paper deposit slips, vs. trying to find your tenant's deposits on the internet and then integrating those deposits with your accounting system. I don't like the idea that deposits can get lost in cyberspace. we have enough problems with accepting both checks and credit cards. 

Keep it simple. Too many methods of payment would be a nightmare. I have enough problems getting the total right for checks on deposit slips.

Checks
Cash
Credit Cards
Google Wallet
Paypal
Direct Deposits
Bitcoin
MovoCash
Electronic Checks

ACH payments are fantastic if you have the software integration. Tenant pays online, it's automatically logged into my software, and I don't have to do a thing.

If your software doesn't handle ACH, then the benefit is lessened because you'll still have to log the payments manually.

Personally, it's worth it to give your tenants every option to pay rent. If they're asking you for it, give it to them.

@Nathan G. Yeah, ACH is bank auto payment right?

Maybe giving my account and checking routing number is the easiest. I am just one guy and do not have fancy software programs. I just head to the bank on the 6th but would like to give at least one more options, not offer 5 plus as I have heard bigger companies offer.