Tenants' check bounced. Property mgr mishandling?

34 Replies

Tenants' check was returned for NSFs. Property manager said they turned in paperwork to officials that if tenant didn't make the check good within so many days she would be arrested!

In all my reading on BP and numerous books on REI - I've never heard of this approach being used.

Nonsense. The police would consider this a civil matter and not get involved. At a certain point, passing bad checks is a crime, but, just one check returned for NSF is not a crime.

This post has been removed.

Did you ensure they also sent the proper pay or quit notice to start eviction if they cannot pay and are following proper landlord/tenant laws?  If not, you could be looking at even more problems.   I'm not a lawyer, no legal advice, but if it were me, I'd likely send PM an email stating that you do not agree with the criminal charges as it might be construed as harassment, as it's a rather severe action on PM's part, especially if they have never bounced a check on you before.

Hold on there.  See the attached.  There can be criminal charges as writing a check with NSF is considered check fraud.  The attached described the possible criminal penalties by state:

http://www.ckfraud.org/penalties.html

Gail

Why take personal checks? I require money orders or cashier checks. It costs the tenants about $1.30 or so. Never had a complaint!

In most states there is a criminal charge for passing bad checks. Typically if someone gets criminally charged they are more likely to make the restitution than if a civil judgement is passed. There is no guarantee that restitution will be made in criminal court though. In order to prove the crime it typically only requires the account to have insufficient funds when the check is written.

@Karen Young ,