User Stats

Votes
Tanner Sandoval
Votes |
STR investment in Knoxville - thoughts?

Tanner Sandoval
Posted Oct 29 2022, 14:23

Hi all - 

First of all, as the forum would imply, I'm an REI newbie. Currently live in Denver, CO in a SFH my wife and I bought last year. We're looking to begin investing in Knoxville--where her family is--and I think I'd like to start with a STR so we can possibly generate a little cash flow, or at least cover costs and have our own place in Knox to visit family. We're thinking about a condo / townhome in west Knox around $200-250k. I recognize that we'd likely need property management since we're not local.

My questions - For those familiar with the market / STRs, is this a reasonable strategy? I understand that a permit is required to operate a STR in city of Knoxville, how tough is that process and would that apply to larger Knox county? Any other ideas / insights would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks! Go Vols! 

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Messinger
  • Property Manager
  • Poconos, PA
Votes |
  • Property Manager
  • Poconos, PA
Replied Oct 29 2022, 19:43

Hey @Tanner Sandoval

I'm not involved in the Knoxville market but best of luck! If there is any advice I can give it is that you really do some due diligence before taking that next step. Make sure to call your city's office building to verify if there is any hotel tax and to figure out what the overall process is when starting/operating your STR legally. Here's the link to their website if it helps! : https://www.knoxvilletn.gov/

Also, when working with a PM company I would make sure to find someone that is a one-stop shop for all of your STR needs. When working with very large management companies remember they will still make you do a large amount of work with your house keepers and property managers.

I hope this helps and If you have any questions feel free to let me know! 

-

Josh

Keller Williams Real Estate Logo

User Stats

Votes
Tanner Sandoval
Votes |