Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Bobby Sharp
Votes |
Advice needed for first deal

Bobby Sharp
Posted Jan 14 2023, 12:50

I’m relatively new to RE, but a friend of mine has given me the opportunity to buy 10 of his houses, all tenanted, owner financed, zero $ down, cash flowing between 200-500 each, all I have to do is pay closing cost (2%) for them coming out to around $25k, which I don’t have. Can someone please tell me the best way to borrow for this deal? 

User Stats

Votes
Cody Hawkins
  • New to Real Estate
  • Ogden, UT
Votes |
  • New to Real Estate
  • Ogden, UT
Replied Jan 14 2023, 13:58
Quote from @Bobby Sharp:

I’m relatively new to RE, but a friend of mine has given me the opportunity to buy 10 of his houses, all tenanted, owner financed, zero $ down, cash flowing between 200-500 each, all I have to do is pay closing cost (2%) for them coming out to around $25k, which I don’t have. Can someone please tell me the best way to borrow for this deal? 

Hi Bobby, because you are doing a seller financed deal that opens up a lot of financing options for you. I used to be a banker and deal with lots of credit and financing options. If you currently own your home you can borrow against it with a HELOC. If not there are still other options for financing. If you have excellent credit you may qualify for an unsecured loan or LOC. You can also go the secured route and borrow against things like your business or vehicle with a secured loan or LOC.

User Stats

Votes
Nathan A.
  • New to Real Estate
  • Sunnyvale CA and Maplewood, NJ
Votes |
  • New to Real Estate
  • Sunnyvale CA and Maplewood, NJ
Replied Jan 14 2023, 14:03

Another option is to find a partner who's willing to put up the cash. You bring the deal, the partner brings the money, and you split the returns.