Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes

Ideas for a tiny home property

Posted Feb 3 2023, 04:39

Hi there I'm looking for any ideas on how to proceed with developing a tiny home property. We want to do something on beautiful land in Northern Arizona and create a property that really embraces nature. For now I just want to do this to enjoy it with family and friends and have some adventures, but I could definitely see people wanting to rent this out or use it as an STR. I have some experience providing these types of outdoor tourism experience for clients already. Looking to see if anyone has any connections in this region or suggestions on how to break down a deal so that this would also come off as a solid long-term investment. Definitely have some cash to put in this deal but I'd like to finance it intelligently and I've still got a lot to learn regarding smart financing.

User Stats

Votes
Scott E.
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Votes |
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Replied Feb 3 2023, 07:12

I've looked at doing this in Northern Arizona as well. The biggest challenges I found were:

1. Financing - I couldn't find a lender who would finance a development deal like this.

2. Zoning - A lot of areas up north have minimum square footage requirements, and also require site built homes (so no prefab allowed).

3. Construction - You didn't mention exactly where you would like to build. But getting crews to a remote location is going to be a challenge, and ultimately means you will be paying more per square foot to build compared to in the city.

Looking forward to others responses to see how these challenges can be overcome.

User Stats

Votes
Replied Feb 3 2023, 16:11
Quote from @Scott E.:

I've looked at doing this in Northern Arizona as well. The biggest challenges I found were:

1. Financing - I couldn't find a lender who would finance a development deal like this.