Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Griffin Sisk
Votes |
Pooling Money With Trusted Friends to Buy Real Estate?

Griffin Sisk
Posted Jan 17 2024, 08:09

Hi all,

I'm new to the real estate space and currently live in Boston, MA. Those familiar with the area probably already know that it's not the best spot for cash flow returns, but carries pretty significant opportunity for appreciation. The barrier to entry I'm currently facing is buying a multifamily in Boston is not cheap.

I have some money saved roughly ~$70k to invest into real estate, but even that isn't enough really, for the greater Boston area, without taking on a considerable project that I'm not sure I'd be ready for as my first purchase.

I'm curious if anyone has experience pooling money with 1 or 2 trusted friends to buy a multifamily property. What are some of the pro's/con's of something like this? Anything to watch for? 

The way I see it, if these friends are viable and trusted business partners it could make Real Estate in Boston more affordable with shared responsibilities to reduce the workload of managing the property. However, if the home has little cash flow return would it really be a good idea to share an asset with friends with no short term returns? 

I'm still super new to the space, so I'd love to hear your thoughts!

User Stats

Votes
Alan F.
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • California
Votes |
  • Flipper/Rehabber
  • California
Replied Jan 17 2024, 08:42
Quote from @Griffin Sisk:

Hi all,

I'm new to the real estate space and currently live in Boston, MA. Those familiar with the area probably already know that it's not the best spot for cash flow returns, but carries pretty significant opportunity for appreciation. The barrier to entry I'm currently facing is buying a multifamily in Boston is not cheap.