Silly question: Who to contact to see REO property?

10 Replies

Good Evening-

Please pardon my ignorance on this subject.

Today on Zillow I found a listing for a duplex in my local area.  It is listed as for sale by owner.  I searched realtor.com and every other site I can think of, and the property is not listed anywhere that I can see.

Based on a search of the property records (I am an abstracting attorney here in Iowa), it appears that the property was sold to the bank at sheriff's sale without the right of redemption back in August 2015.  According to Zillow, it was listed with a source of Keller Williams from September 2015 through November 2015.  Now, on Zillow I do not see any listed agent.

I drove by the property today and do not see any signs or other contact information at the property.

The main reason I want to see the property is that the assessor's sight and the zillow listing are off on the number of bedrooms. If the listing is correct, I am interested in making an offer. Who do I contact to see the property? Is this something that will be on the MLS that I need an agent to view? Is there a way to contact the bank (DUETSCHE) directly? The foreclosure trustee?

Again pardon my ignorance and the long post.  I appreciate any help that anyone can offer!

hmm; For Sale By Owner == FBSO, ergo 99% of the time not on any MLS.

Sheriff's Sale is the end point of a foreclosure process which was proceeded by Notice of Default and Trustee Sale, also not on the MLS.

REOs typically do not get an eyeball inspection are are sold as-is with existing liens in place.

The defacto authority for a property configuration ( x/bed, y/bath) is the County Tax Accessor's office and if you find inconsistencies with other data, suspect un-permitted changes.