• Real Estate Agent
  • Charleston, SC
Votes |
New agent looking for a brokerage

Hillary Fox
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Charleston, SC
Posted Jan 4 2023, 06:53

My name is Hillary Fox and I have been an emergency room nurse for ten years that is looking for a full time change to real estate. I recently passed my licensure exam and am looking for a brokerage to work for. I am looking for advice on the difference between brokerages and how to choose one here in Charleston (I live on Johns Island so would prefer to go with an office within 25 min from home)

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Grabau
  • Realtor
  • Longmont, CO
Votes |
  • Realtor
  • Longmont, CO
Replied Jan 4 2023, 07:05

I have been really really happy with Keller Williams. Each office is independently owned and has its own "vibe" so I would check out a few. I considered EXP as my next choice, but the model of revenue splits and the stock return model seemed really unsustainable. It did not make sense to me how to producers could earn more from the company than they provided in splits, and with the stock being down 70% in the last year, the market agrees. 

Profit share makes a lot more sense than revenue share. It is more complicated, but growing profit is much more important for an agent than growing revenue. It does not matter how much money you or your brokerage takes in in GCI if you and your brokerage pay more for that revenue than you make, hence are unprofitable. 

User Stats

Votes
Jordan Robertson
  • Denver
Votes |
  • Denver
Replied Jan 4 2023, 11:17

Hey Hillary, 

Congrats on passing the exam! I'm going to begin that process myself. I'd recommend using the find-an-agent tab to start your due diligence. Everybody that is featured in Charleston is an investor-focused agent, and their brokerage information will be listed.