• Orlando, FL
Votes |
Looking for good MLO school

Jean-Thierry Aleman
Pro Member
  • Investor
  • Orlando, FL
Posted May 4 2022, 06:49

I'm thinking about a career change.  I've been a paramedic for close to 2 decades and love it but I also love R.E. (obviously) and have built a small portfolio with my wife over the last 7 years or so.  I have been considering becoming a loan officer for a little while now and have decided to officially take the plunge.  My question to all the MLO's out there...... Can you recommend a legit/good online program?  I have looked online and seen quite a few but don't want to waste my time with a lesser school.

If you have any recommendations for school or other resources I should be checking out, I would be very appreciative.

Thank you

--JT

User Stats

Votes
Scott E.
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Votes |
  • Developer
  • Scottsdale, AZ
Replied May 4 2022, 07:07

I'm not an MLO anymore but I started in this business as an MLO back in 2007 (that was an interesting time to be an MLO!)

I don't have a recommendation for a school but I will say 2 things...

1. If you go work for a big bank, they will give you all of the training and education that you need. You will finish training with your NMLS and this will all be no cost to you. So something to consider.

2. I personally don't think this is a great time to become an MLO. With rates rising fast, the refinance business is slowing big time and purchases likely to follow. I read something the other day that Wells Fargo was doing layoffs again in their mortgage department. These conditions will make it tough to get a job, and even tougher to get sales once you do have the job.

User Stats

Votes
Winn Cook
  • Property Manager
  • Durango, CO
Votes |
  • Property Manager
  • Durango, CO
Replied May 4 2022, 10:26