Skip to content
Multi-Family and Apartment Investing

User Stats

Votes
Cole Doyon
Votes |
Potential FIRST Multifamily Purchase (Need Advice)!!

Cole Doyon
Posted Mar 30 2023, 12:59

Hey guys,

This is my first time posting on BiggerPockets, and my first time I am actually heavily considering a deal. 

This is the BiggerPockets Rental Calculations: https://www.biggerpockets.com/...

I feel like I used rather conservative numbers there, and the property still cash flows extremely well.

Am I missing anything? I know Akron has a high crime rate but still... I feel like this is a steal.

What are your guys' thoughts? I would really appreciate any advice you guys could provide!!

User Stats

Votes
Charles Roy
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • Belle, WV
Votes |
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • Belle, WV
Replied Mar 30 2023, 14:19

Hey Cole! I lived in Akron for 10 months and I think the estimated rents you are projecting for the duplex are a little high. $1,275 is a little steep for most residents of Akron, especially in the southwest area versus somewhere more favorable like the town of Ellet due to less crime. I think the rest of your variables are conservative. With this being said I think money can be made in Akron as it is a cheaper market. The issue is with cheaper markets comes more dangerous tenants. I think 900-1150 is a more favorable rent amount. A ton of cash flowing properties in Akron exist but majority are in class D or lower class C neighborhoods. I would just be careful of what specific area of Akron you are investing in. Personally if I were to invest I would go closer to the university and rent out rooms for students. Good luck with your future investing!

User Stats

Votes
Cole Doyon
Votes |
Replied Mar 30 2023, 14:31
Quote from @Charles Roy: