Votes |
Hi!! I’m a New Investor!! SFH vs Duplex. Advice please

Nagarjuna Kalavagunta
Pro Member
  • New to Real Estate
  • San Antonio Texas
Posted Mar 26 2023, 22:16

Hello investors,

I’m a new investor and joined BP Pro membership today. Wanted to say Hi to everyone.

I wanted to invest in Converse/ Seguin / New Braunfels area. I have couple of questions regarding this -

1. Is my choice of locations good ? Because I consistently see a lot of houses vacant for rent here. 
2. As I’m very new to investing here, is it wise to purchase a Single family home around $250K as my first investment property or buying ~450K duplex ?

I already own a house and cannot do house hacking.

many thanks in advance.

Regards,

Naga

User Stats

Votes
Bjorn Ahlblad
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Votes |
Pro Member
#5 Multi-Family and Apartment Investing Contributor
  • Investor
  • Shelton, WA
Replied Mar 26 2023, 22:40

@Nagarjuna Kalavagunta welcome to BP! It depends on your goals and preferences. Many investors prefer SFR and others want duplex and four plex. There is no reason to rush in this market.

My suggestion is join a LL or REI association in San Antonio, go to meetings and network with people. Get to know the neighborhoods and decide what kind of properties you want to own and what your goals are.

User Stats

Votes
Lawrence Potts
  • Real Estate Agent
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
Replied Mar 27 2023, 05:56
Quote from @Nagarjuna Kalavagunta:

Hello investors,

I’m a new investor and joined BP Pro membership today. Wanted to say Hi to everyone.

I wanted to invest in Converse/ Seguin / New Braunfels area. I have couple of questions regarding this -

1. Is my choice of locations good ? Because I consistently see a lot of houses vacant for rent here. 
2. As I’m very new to investing here, is it wise to purchase a Single family home around $250K as my first investment property or buying ~450K duplex ?