Skip to content
General Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Timothy Howdeshell
  • Investor
  • Fresno, CA
Votes |
Is the inner city/urban core a viable investment area now?

Timothy Howdeshell
  • Investor
  • Fresno, CA
Posted May 31 2023, 11:53

Hi all, 

I've been investing in Kansas City, MO for several years now. I've always stayed away from the inner city (South of the river between 71 and 435. I'm seeing that development has continued pushing east towards 71 from downtown. And with prices going up all around the metro, the inner city seems to have a lot more development in it as well. 

When I started out I was told not to invest east of the Paseo and to avoid inner city due to high crime, low values, etc. Is this changing now though? 

I'm not a fan of D class areas (or C- for that matter) so would like to avoid that type of investing, but I'm wondering if it is safe from a crime and ROI perspective (fix and flip).

Thank you! 

User Stats

Votes
Ernst S Coriolan
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Kansas City
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Kansas City
Replied May 31 2023, 13:36

That's such a broad outline, but there's a tremendous amount of opportunity in that area. Vineyard Estates is a great neighborhood with high home prices. The Swope Park area is another unique pocket that has high home prices and it also has lower crime rates the closer you are to the park. There are also a lot that invest in this areas and use a section 8 strategy to guarantee the rent. Development projects keep pushing that line at Paseo/71st further and further east as projects are completed.