Votes
Rodrigo Muller
Pro Member
Votes |
How to properly use a HELOC to help finance first investment property

Rodrigo Muller
Pro Member
Posted Mar 6 2023, 11:37

Newbie here, hope everyone is having a lovely day! I am currently educating myself and looking to get my first investment property this year. My current situation is, I own my primary residence in South Florida and I'm sitting on around $500k in equity. I'm currently looking to get a HELOC on the property for a down payment and get a mortgage to finance the rest. My question is, about how long do I wait to refinance and pay off the HELOC, and, is that the best way of going about it? Just trying to plan my strategy so any recommendations would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!

User Stats

Votes
Joshua Townsley
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Miami
Votes |
  • Real Estate Agent
  • Miami
Replied Mar 6 2023, 12:04

So it will certainly come down to the property and when interest rates lower again. You are going to want to finance at the current 6ish% for a lot longer if all of a sudden rates jump to 15% or something crazy and same goes with refinancing right away if the rates drop big. Likewise I am always a fan of buying for cash flow (unless the goal is to flip) if you buy for cash flow then you know your mortgage is covered and that you can wait until the time is right to refi.

Overall I would find the right deal and make sure the numbers are solid (don't be overly generous with rental estimates or not thinking about all possible expenses) if the numbers are good then you can cash flow, if you can cash flow then within a year when rates stabilize and you add value to the property you will likely be able to cash out without too much of a problem.

BOL!!

User Stats

Votes
Jon Puente
  • Lender
  • Charlotte, NC
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Charlotte, NC
Replied Mar 6 2023, 12:22

Hey Rodrigo,