User Stats

Votes
Angu Krishna
Votes |
23% management fee

Angu Krishna
Posted Apr 2 2024, 18:17

Hi Everyone,

I recently ventured into real estate investing and purchased my first property a few months ago. As my current property management contract is up for renewal and also my tenants leases is ending by end of this month, I reached out to them for new offers. To my surprise, they provided a quote for a 23% management fee per month rent, which includes a one-year rent guarantee (regardless of whether tenants pay or not) and a maintenance credit of 2.5k per year.

I must admit, I was taken aback by the figure. It seems quite high to me, especially considering I'm still relatively new to this field. I wanted to seek some advice and opinions from this community before making a decision.

Do you think the management fee and the additional services provided justify the cost? Have any of you encountered similar situations in your real estate investing journey? Any insights or experiences you could share would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance for your help.

User Stats

Votes
Bryan F.
Votes |

What are vacancy rates in your market and does the current tenant plan to re-up for another year? I read that rate as paying an extra month and half worth of your annual rent collection to buy income insurance for the year. Seems like expensive insurance to me, and if the tenant is already planning to re-up, then it's definitely not worth the premium.

User Stats

Votes
Theresa Harris
Pro Member
#4 All Forums Contributor
Votes |
Pro Member
#4 All Forums Contributor
Replied Apr 2 2024, 18:58

How much is the rent and what is the $2.5K maintenance credit?  If the house attracts the type of tenant who is likely to skip out on rent or cause damages, it could be worth it.    I've not heard of anything similar. My PM does do pet insurance and covers damages from pets, but that is part of the regular monthly fee.

BiggerPockets logo
BiggerPockets
|
Sponsored