Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions

User Stats

Votes
Scott K.
Votes |
LLC Misconceptions and Education

Scott K.
Posted Oct 22 2020, 08:30

So bear with me - I'm no expert and am simply trying to help instruct others but also educate myself if I'm incorrect on what I know. I've been reading up today on a bunch of forums including this one and see WILDLY varying beliefs on LLCs, insurance, and protecting assets. I see a TON of directly conflicting information about stuff that should be set in stone and it's a little concerning. So help me out here, and hopefully this can help others.

1. LLCs and Insurance are completely separate purpose liability shielding tools. In fact, it seems you should be using both for the best possible protection. When someone sues you, you first check if your insurance will cover the damages. If your insurance runs out, or your insurance says you screwed up, they go after your personal assets. At this point, an LLC matters. If your LLC was sued, they can only take your LLC assets. If you personally were sued, they can take everything from you.

2. LLC's serve to separate your assets from each other, so if one is targeted in a lawsuit, your other assets are protected. If you own a rental home in an LLC, and own your personal home in your name. If your renter sues you, they must sue your LLC. If they win damages, and those damages go above your equity in that home and assets in that LLC, they cannot then go after your personal home.

3. Insurance serves as a monetary buffer between whoever is suing you, and your assets that are included in the lawsuit. Insurance does not cover 100% of issues, as often insurance companies are notorious for trying to weasel out of any lawsuits and blame you. They are in business to make money, not help you.