Skip to content
Short-Term & Vacation Rental Discussions

User Stats

Votes

Strategies to rent lux properties and AirBNB w/ owner's approval

Posted Sep 28 2019, 01:21

Hi,

Was hoping a seasoned AirBNB professional could point me in the right direction.

I am exploring the idea of leasing luxury property in the Lake Tahoe, CA area for the winter season in the 5-20k/mo range and renting out for $500ish/night during the week and $2-5knight on the weekends. I am lucky to have some excellent contacts there so I believe I can potentially pull this off.  I personally know that the demand is far exceeds the supply for these properties. 

I am new to this, so I wanted to ask:

How do you go about securing the lease with an addendum that I can sublease the property as a vacation rental and get the owner to go along with it?

Do you purchase additional insurance beyond what AirBNB provides?

How would you go about teaming up with an interior designer/stager providing a first class experience while keeping costs down?

What is the worst case occupancy rate you factor into your margins given that the property is in an A+ location and is staged beautifully?

What is the standard rate for an AirBNB property manager as I would be a silent investor?

User Stats

Votes
Nathan Gesner
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
Votes |
  • Real Estate Broker
  • Cody, WY
ModeratorReplied Sep 28 2019, 06:43

I think you're about to make a big mistake or, more likely, you're just bouncing ideas in your head and will never actually act on them.

Do you have any idea what it would cost to furnish a luxury home like this? I can tell you don't, because you don't even know an interior designer and you're naive enough to think you can hire a "first class" designer that "keeps costs down".