User Stats

Votes
Joshua Post
Votes |
New REI from Tampa! Just wanted to say hi! :D

Joshua Post
Posted Jan 2 2024, 14:04

Hello from Tampa, FL, friends!

I'm brand new to the world of REI (and to this forum), and just wanted to connect with other like-minded individuals who are just starting out. I don't yet have any experience, but I'm feverishly trying to learn as much as possible about wholesaling and fix-and-flipping (I'm not totally against the idea of rental properties, though).

I have purchased and read quite a few BP books, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to "put all the pieces together." That said, I'm wondering if I should invest in some kind of training program? If so, does anyone have any good recommendations for Wholesaling and/or Fix-and-Flip training (even better if it's in Tampa)? I don't mind spending a little money on training, but it needs to be legit, practical training.

Anyway, I don't yet know anyone on this forum, so feel free to reach out! I look forward to connecting with you! :D

User Stats

Votes
Zach Edelman
  • Lender
  • Austin, TX
Votes |
  • Lender
  • Austin, TX
Replied Jan 2 2024, 14:23

Welcome to BP! Lots of good REI opportunities in Tampa, FL.

User Stats

Votes
John Karg
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • West Palm Beach, FL
Votes |
Pro Member
  • Lender
  • West Palm Beach, FL
Replied Jan 2 2024, 22:20

Hi Joshua, 

Welcome! My personal opinion is that flipping is very difficult in this market, with margins much lower than they used to be back in the golden days of 2010 - 2015. A lot of REI books were written by authors that made it big in these times, but their results just can't be reliably reproduced in today's market. For this reason I typically guide people towards buy and hold investing.