Real Estate Attorney Recommendations, Omaha, NE

8 Replies

Hi BP family,

Throwing up the bat signal - need some advice! I am new to Omaha and just starting to invest in rentals. I am looking to build my network of local experts and I am in search of recommendations for experienced Real Estate Attorneys and CPA's.

I am seeking legal advice on the safest and most beneficial way to structure my properties in the future. For example, do I create an LLC for each property or go the land trust route? I appreciate any and all guidance.

Thank you,

-L

@Leigh Mueller Hi Leigh, we specialize in this kind of thing so I guess I can be Batman here. Long story short, you can do both an LLC and a land trust, and they compliment each other. We typically put properties into land trust, and that in turn goes into an LLC. Feel free to message back or connect with me if you'd like to know more. We have a lot of free resources on the subject that I'd be happy to share.

Hi Leigh, I think there are a lot of ways you can go about this. LLC vs. no LLC is a long debate and there are lots of BP posts/articles that argue both sides.

I think it depends a lot on what your goals and how you are starting. For us, financing was much cheaper to buy the house in our own names and then getting landlord insurance and/or umbrella policies was the better way to go. If you buy through an LLC, there are stricter regulations and higher requirements for financing. So I think we'll consider going that route when we have more properties, but not starting out. If you were to buy a big multifamily property right off the bat (like a 300 man apartment complex), that might change things.

Be sure to read about the arguments for and against LLCs and also how it fits your path. 

Leigh, if you have legal / business structure questions specific to the Omaha area, my legal advisor / realtor is Ben Thompson: