Building a detached ADU in Tacoma

5 Replies

Currently wrapping up framing, about to start roof and exterior siding. There have been a lot of challenges and extra costs, not planned for. Anyone else working on an ADU, or thinking about it? Want to share ideas? Let me know.

@Tim S.

Hey Tim I am currently about 90 percent finished with the drafting process for my own ADU. Still no property but working on the process. I would be interested to see what your total sqft price is at for building.

That being said I am a builder in the area s I if ypu ate looking for another contractor that has low overhead (therefore can be quite competitive). Hit me up I am prospecting for buisiness partners who I can leverage my sweat equity with to get some rentals going. I also could just direct you to some other subs just to make sure your prices are fair. Always good to get multiple bids.

@Nicholas Rickman ,  Well, we'll see where it ends up in terms of cost.  There have been several sizable change orders bumping up the price, and there could be more.  It's 830 sqft. Hope to end up around $160k for construction.  That doesn't include design, or permits, I'm up to about $16k for those items.  I have a GC running the job, so he's providing all of the subs.  I can get outside quotes if I need to. I did on the trench I talk about below. 

A couple of surprises, I was not able to bring power from the main house, it is maxed out. New service needs to be added from the pole. Existing service is above ground wires, over 2 adjacent properties to the house. Tacoma Power says they don't have right of way to add service that way over 2 properties. So I had to dig a 150' trench from the pole, down the alley to the ADU. That was pretty expensive, $2300 to Tacoma Power, and another $6.5k for the trench.

2nd issue, a fire sprinkler system is required since part of the structure is >150" from the street.  That wasn't in the original quote, and added about $8k.